PCB论坛网

找回密码
 注册
查看: 1278|回复: 1

我过英语关(转)

[复制链接]
发表于 2003-1-10 09:38:00 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式
编者按:学好英语绝非易事。不仅我们中国人深有此感,世界上任何一个英语为非母语的人在没有英语语言环境的情况下学英语也是如此。本文中的波兰青年是个学英语的成功者。他的英语学习经验很值得我们借鉴。

Q:Who are you?

A:My full name is Tomasz P. Szynalski, but people just call me Tom. I live in Wroclaw, Poland. I study business administration and computer science at the Wroclaw University of Technology. In the past few years, I have worked as an English-Polish translator and as a web designer. Recently, I became webmaster at Antimoon.com.

Q:How did you learn English?

A:I started learning English when I was 6 years old. For 8 years I learned English the way everybody does -- by going to English classes. It was awfully ineffective. I did everything that the teachers told me to do: the homework assignments, everything. But I didn' t get any results. At least, no impressive results. I mean, I was always one of the best students in class. Still, reading English texts took me a long time, I made lots of mistakes when writing, my pronunciation was bad, and I could only speak English very slowly. Eight years of sacrifices, and these were the results...

It got a little better because of... computer games. When I got my first PC in 1991, I started playing lots of adventure games. I especially loved LucasArts(then called Lucasfilm) games, such as the Indiana Jones and Monkey Island series. Playing these games, I would read a lot of English sentences, and after some time I gained a little " grammar intuition." When I did well in a local English contest for 14-year olds, I thought that adventure games had taught me more than English classes. You see, I would often " feel" the right answers in grammar tests, while other students had to remember dozens of grammar rules. But my English was still pretty bad.